A Bug and a Wish

During our Be Nice Be Safe lesson this week, we learned to stand up for ourselves when someone is being mean. When a friend (or sibling!) does something that bothers us, we can use A Bug and A Wish to tell them how we feel. First we tell them, “Stop” or “I don’t like that.” Then we give them A Bug and A Wish.  For example,  “Stop! It bugs me when you hog the football and I wish you would please share with me.”  The listener responds by saying, “I’m sorry.” This simple strategy helps kids to strengthen both their communication and their problem solving skills.

Yesterday, I sent home A Bug and A Wish wand that you can make with your first grader. Cut it out and glue the pieces back to back (or glue each piece to a popsicle stick). Encourage your child to use this wand at home to practice A Bug and A Wish with their brothers, sisters, or friends. (If you need another copy, just email me. I have have lots of extra copies at school.) 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-09-10 at 2.32.22 PM

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *