Reading Progress

It’s hard to believe that we have already been at school for two months! During that time, students have learned to apply new strategies while reading. In order to document each child’s progress, I am reading with my students one-on-one this week. I will be assessing their accuracy (reading the words correctly), their independent use of strategies when they encounter tricky words, their fluency (smooth reading), and their comprehension (understanding of the story). Reading uses many different skills!

I am looking forward to meeting with parents during parent/teacher conference time to share information about students’ progress. Don’t worry about setting up a separate time with me, I will be joining you when you meet with your child’s classroom teacher.

Because I won’t have my reading groups this week, please make sure that you continue reading with your child at home every night. The first and second grade classrooms have started Raz-Kids, a great website with leveled books that your child can access at home. By spending just 15 minutes a night reading together, you can provide invaluable support for your child.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *