Welcome Back!

animated_ricky_V2As we begin school, I will be checking in with my former reading students. Based on the results of formal assessments, students may qualify for additional reading support. I will contact families regarding this support by the end of September.

In the meantime, you can prepare your child for these busy first weeks by establishing a consistent reading time at home. You can vary this time by having your child read to you or by reading to your child. Remember to have your child read books that are at a “just right” level. “Just right books” can be read easily, with fewer than 5 tricky words per page. Also check to make sure that your child understands the progression of the story. When reading at home, it is better to choose a book that is easier than harder for your child. so that reading time is fun and builds reading confidence. These practices will help to raise a child who chooses to read not just for school, but for enjoyment.

I look forward to checking in with my reading students! If you have any questions, please contact me at school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *